

2023 ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING MINUTES JULY 15, 2023

UNAPPROVED

- 1.0 Call To Order At 1:08 PM President Nolan Mullen called meeting to order. A quorum was met with the following members present: Nolan Mullen, Bob Ballenger, Bill Becker, Carmel Cottrell, Brian Holt, Mark Kosco, Deb McNamee, Laura Pratt; John Anderson was absent. General Manager Jen Callaghan was also present.
- 2.0 Pledge of Allegiance
- **3.0** Adopt Minutes of The June 11, 2022 Annual Membership Meeting: Mike Harris motioned, seconded by Laura Pratt to adopt the June 11, 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes as written. Motion carried unanimously.
- 4.0 Directors Election Procedure

Vicki Serchon reported when ballots are received, the General Manager verifies that all dues are paid. All envelopes are opened, and the ballot envelopes removed. We verify that the number of ballots circled on the front of the envelop matches the number of ballots shown on the return address label. Ballots removed from the ballot envelope and then placed in stacks of ten for counting. The blue envelopes are returned to the black box for safekeeping until next year. When all ballots are removed, the counting begins. One person reads the name, second person verifies it. And the other two members mark the vote on a tally sheet. When the tally has completed, the votes for each candidate are totaled and marked on an official tally sheet. Your results are then reported to the membership.

5.0 Treasurer's Report

Steven Borst reported. Association ended the year in a financially sound place. Operating Fund revenue \$2.8 million, almost \$300,000 higher than a year ago. R&R Fund \$1.5 million. Capital Fund \$1.9 million.

6.0 Legal Report

Doug Sury, Association Counsel from Costello, Sury & Rooney reported. Solar light statute is only potentially impacting statute. Associations are limited in their restrictions for solar install, making it easier for property owners to install.

7.0 Audit Report

Tony Ozzauto from Catalano, Caboor & Co. reported. Copy of audit is available through the Association office.

8.0 Department and Project Updates

- **8.1 Flood Mitigation:** Ron Carpenter reported on spillway project. Plan will maintain current look of the waterfall. We received permit from Army Corps of Engineers. Waiting on IDNR permit.
- **8.2 Zebra Mussels:** Al Zobjeck reported. Three shoreline applications, two weeks apart, recently completed. Takes ten days to see full effect. A film crew, Inspired Planet, from Canada filmed with an underwater drone. Documentary being made. Mortality being seen even shortly after first treatment.
- **8.3 Building:** Joe Wiener reported. 244 permits issued. 210 Septic inspections. Five new sites at campground.

- **8.2 Maintenance:** Joe Wiener reported. Thirty-two new docks [slips] installed in Winchester Bay. Dredge ponds emptied. Golf Course equipment serviced. Golf course irrigation system being treated to prevent Zebra Mussels at point of intake.
 - 8.3 Food & Beverage: Kristina Larkin reported.
 - **8.4. Safety & Security:** Julie Janssen reported. Five full-time officers, nine part-time. Three have responder's licenses. Calls: Lockouts 38; Property Owner assists 127; Heat-light program, 77 homes; Chopper airlifts 4 last year; 1 this year; Dam Disaster—working with Elizabeth and Hanover Fire; Emergency Volunteer Corps; Security Care Watch.
 - **8.5 Recreation/Communication:** Tim Brokl reported. Recreation: Stage purchased, used for Summer Kick-Off. NICE ice rink purchased last year, but not set up. Fitness Center: Two treadmills and weight machine added. Communications: Working on making website more user-friendly. Online pay and registration working on boat and campsite rentals.
- **9.0 Nominating Commission Report:** Mike Yorke reported.
- **10.0 Member Questions and Comments**
- **11.0 Election Results:** Vicki Sershon announced 680 Total Ballots cast. 667 Valid ballots, 13 ballots invalid. Results: Henry Doden 237; Kristin Luu 198; David Allgood 252; Brian Holt 332; Sue Marron 75; Carmel Cottrell 282; Deb McNamee 307. Five write-in candidates as well. Newly elected Board members: **Brian Holt, Deb McNamee, and Carmel Cottrell**. Congratulations to the new Board members.
- **12.0 Recognition of Outgoing Board Members:** President Nolan Mullen thanked and recognized and the devoted service on the Board by Mike Harris, Steven Borst and Henry Doden. We will miss Mike's vast experience, having served multiple terms on the Board. We will miss Henry's insight and experience. And Steve Borst was an absolute asset as Board Treasurer.
- **13.0 Adjournment:** At 3:02 PM Bob Ballenger motioned to adjourn, seconded by Bill Becker. Motion carried